News Releases

News Releases

For Immediate Release

Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC Announces 2012 Winter-Spring Community Education Calendar

Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC is offering winter and spring classes for children and adults at several locations throughout the greater Pittsburgh area. Registration for classes is required and scholarships are available upon request. For more information or to register, please call 412-692-7105.

Alone at Home ($10/Family)
Children ages 10 and up with their parent(s). Physical and emotional readiness, appropriate behaviors and creation of a family safety plan for children home alone. 

Pine Center, Wexford, Wednesday, March 7, 7-8:30 p.m.
Children’s South, Bethel Park, Thursday, March 8, 7-8:30 p.m.
Children’s South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, May 9, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, May 17, 7- 8:30 p.m.

Avoid Power Struggles with your Kids (Free)
For all parents. Learn how to avoid everyday struggles with your kids, stop nagging and use options to increase cooperation.  

Pine Center, Wexford, Wednesday, Jan. 18, 7-8:30 p.m.
Children’s South, Bethel Park, Thursday, April 12, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, April 26, 7-8:30 p.m.

Babysitting 101 ($35/Student)
Boys and girls ages 11 and up can learn about safety for themselves and the children in their care, including first aid basics and choking rescue techniques, as well as  child development and routine daily care.   

Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, Jan. 14, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
Children’s East, Monroeville, Saturday, Feb. 4, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Children’s South, Bethel Park, Saturday, Feb. 18, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, March 3, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
Children’s South, Bethel Park, Saturday, March 24, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, March 31, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
Family Care Connection, Lawrenceville, Saturday, April 21, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Children’s South, Bethel Park. Saturday, May 5, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, May 19, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
Children’s Primary Care Center, Oakland, Saturday, June 9, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, June 16, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
Children’s South, Bethel Park, Saturday, June 23, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.

CPR - Infant and Child ($30/Student)
For parents and other adults. American Heart Association’s Family and Friends non-certification course. Learn proper emergency responses and how to save an infant or child.
Children’s Primary Care Center, Oakland, Saturday, Jan. 14, 9 a.m.-Noon
Children’s North, Wexford, Saturday, February 4, 9 a.m.–Noon
Children’s South, Bethel Park, Saturday, March 3, 9 a.m.–Noon
Children’s Primary Care Center, Oakland, Saturday, April 21, 9 a.m.–Noon
Children’s North, Wexford, Saturday, May 5, 9 a.m.–Noon
Children’s South, Bethel Park, Saturday, June 2, 9 a.m.–Noon

Discipline Doesn’t Have to Hurt (Free)
Parents of toddlers and preschoolers learn the difference between discipline and punishment, age-appropriate expectations and options when children test the limits.

Children’s South, Bethel Park, Monday, March 19, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Tuesday, March 27, 7-8:30 p.m.

Early Childhood Parenting Made Fun! ($10 per family)
For parents of toddlers and preschoolers. This nationally acclaimed Love and Logic™ workshop will help parents create a happy family and raise responsible kids. Parents will learn strategies to reduce whining, arguing and misbehavior. Explore techniques to develop smooth morning and bedtime routines, calm sibling bickering and take the battles out of daily activities. Using love and logic parents can teach their children respect, responsibility and self discipline.
 
Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, Feb. 18, 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Children’s South, Bethel Park, Saturday, March 10, 9 a.m.–Noon

Parenting your Adolescent (Free)
Children’s South, Bethel Park, Monday, Jan. 16, 7-8:30 p.m.

Raising Responsible Kids (Free) 
For all parents. Learn techniques to increase cooperation and independence and encourage children to be responsible for themselves, chores and homework.

Children’s South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, Feb. 8, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Wednesday, Feb. 22, 7-8:30 p.m.

Taming your Toddler (Free)
For parents of children ages 1 to 3. How to handle tantrums, potty training, language development, sleep and more. Learn effective strategies to enjoy this phase of your child’s development. 

CCP - Allegheny Pediatrics, RIDC Park, Tuesday, Feb. 28, 7-8:30 p.m.
CCP - South Hills Pediatric Associates, Brentwood, Thursday, March 1, 7-8:30 p.m. 
CCP - Moon & Wexford Pediatrics, Moon, Tuesday, March 13, 7-8:30 p.m.
CCP - Armstrong Pediatrics, Sarver, Monday, March 19, 7-8:30 p.m. 

Setting Successful Limits (Free)
For all parents. Children from infancy to teens need their parents to set firm limits. Limits are the foundation for your child’s self confidence and security. Although kids need limits, they will test a parent’s willingness to uphold them. Learn strategies to successfully set and maintain age-appropriate limits for your kids. 

Children’s South, Bethel Park, Monday, Feb. 20, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, March 1, 7-8:30 p.m.

Andrea Kunicky, 412-692-6254, andrea.kunicky@chp.edu
Marc Lukasiak, 412-692-7919, marc.lukasiak@chp.edu

Last Update
January 31, 2012
  • Increase/Decrease Text Size
  • Print This Page
Last Update
January 31, 2012
top