Our Services

Blood and Marrow Transplantation Types

BMT, or blood and marrow transplant, is a procedure to replace unhealthy or destroyed bone marrow with new bone marrow stem cells.

There are three kinds of blood and marrow transplant:

  • Autologous transplant, also called self-donor transplant or rescue transplant: Autologous transplant is when a person's own stem cells are removed before receiving radiation or chemotherapy treatment. Then, the stem cells are put back in the person's body.
  • Allogeneic transplant is when another person's stem cells are removed. Usually the donor and the recipient have the same genetic makeup. Special blood tests are done to make sure a donor and recipient are a good match. At Children's Hospital, we perform four kinds of allogeneic transplant:
    • Identical twin donor
    • Related donor
    • Unrelated donor
    • "Mismatched" donor
  • Umbilical cord blood transplant. Stem cells are removed from a newborn baby's umbilical cord and are stored until needed for transplant.  
Last Update
October 12, 2012
  • Increase/Decrease Text Size
  • Print This Page
Last Update
October 12, 2012