Howard A. Mermelstein Award

The Howard A. Mermelstein, MD, Memorial Lecture and Award Endowment FundThe Howard A. Mermelstein, MD, Memorial Lecture and Award Endowment Fund

This endowment, created by his family, honors the memory of the late Howard A. Mermelstein, MD, a beloved UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh pediatrician, respected mentor, published clinical investigator, Korean War veteran and honored past president of the Allegheny County Medical Society.

Dr. Mermelstein’s role as a member of Children’s Hospital’s medical staff began with his pediatric residency in 1949, after a one-year rotating internship at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, a year of fluid balance research with Thaddeus Danowski, MD, and culminated with his medical staff presidency in 1989–90.

The endowment supports several activities of Children’s medical alumni, the association of current and past members of Children’s faculty and voluntary medical staff.

Howard A. Mermelstein, MD, Award for Excellence in Pediatrics

Dr. Mermelstein devoted his life to caring for Pittsburgh’s children and their families. This peer-awarded honor recognizes outstanding academic pediatricians/pediatric surgeons and community-based pediatricians on an alternating basis. The awardee is a beloved practitioner, active in the community and committed to children, teaching and the betterment of the profession. Honorees have a history of connection with the Pittsburgh region and are nominated by UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh medical alumni. The award is presented during the annual Pittsburgh Spring Summit.

View the criteria and make a nomination.

Past Awardees: 

  • 2013 Mark Diamond, MD
  • 2012 Paul F. Dubner, MD
  • 2011 Demetrius Ellis, MD
  • 2010 Thomas Gessner, MD
  • 2009 William I. Cohen, MD 
  • 2008 Harold Glick, MD 
  • 2007 Basil J. Zitelli, MD 
  • 2004-06 No award given 
  • 2003 Angelo S. Runco, MD 
  • 2002 J. Carlton Gartner Jr., MD 
  • 2001 James K. Greenbaum, MD 
  • 2000 Ellen R. Wald, MD 
  • 1999 Kenneth L. Garver, MD, PhD 
  • 1998 James R. Zuberbuhler, MD 
  • 1997 Michael Krak, MD 
  • 1996 Paul C. Gaffney, MD 
  • 1995 Bernard I. Michaels, MD 
  • 1994 Thomas K. Oliver Jr., MD